Ulrich Eichelmann
CEO
ulrich.eichelmann@riverwatch.eu
0043/676 6621512

Ulrich (55) is a German ecologist and conservationist who has been living in Vienna for 29 years. He worked for the WWF Austria for more than 17 years until 2007, being primarily concerned with river conservation and restoration. He has been campaigning internationally against the construction of hydropower plants such as dams along the Danube or the Ilisu Dam project on the Tirgris River in Turkey. Between 2010 and 2012 he produced the film Climate Crimes, a documentary about the abuse of climate protection and the consequences of so-called green energies.  In 2012, he founded the Vienna-based conservation organization River Watch – a society for the protection of rivers. In addition, he is freelancing for the Manfred-Hermsen-Stiftung, an environmental protection foundation based in Bremen, Germany. In November 2014, he was awarded the Great Binding Prize for Nature Conservation and in June 2015 he received the Wolfgang Staab Prize for Nature Conservation.

 

IMG_4454

Cornelia Wieser
Executive Assistant
cornelia.wieser@riverwatch.eu
0043/650 4544784

Conny (31) has been working for Riverwatch since February 2013. Born in Austria, she studied International Development (with a focus on environmental issues) in Vancouver/Canada and is particularly interested in habitat conservation, ecological equilibrium and true climate protection. She is responsible for public relations, project coordination, event planning as well as organizational issues. Currently, the focus of her work lies in the “Save the Blue Heart of Europe” campaign.

20160812_144202

Anita Scharl
Project coordinator De-Damming
anita.scharl@riverwatch.eu
0043/680 1352449

Anita (37) studied Land and Water Engineering at the University of Natural Resources and Applied Life Sciences, Vienna. She spent8 years in France, China and Vietnam working for a French research institute (CEMAGREF – now Irstea) as well as an environmental consultancy (Asconit Consultants) with its main focus on river conservation. She developed water quality monitoring concepts together with local river basin organizations. Since 2012, she is back in Austria and until recently has been working for hydrophil,where she was responsible for international projects in the water sector in countries such as Lebanon, Nigeria, Uganda and Moldova.Anita has joined Riverwatch in mid-February 2017, where she is developing the de-damming campaign to free rivers from old and no longer functional dams.

 

32_lachend_1

Many thanks to longtime partner and supporter of Riverwatch, the Manfred-Hermsen-Stiftung based in Bremen, Germany.

mhs logo quer_8b

Ulrich Eichelmann
Geschäftsführer
ulrich.eichelmann@riverwatch.eu
0043/676 6621512

Ulrich Eichelmann (55): Ökologe und Naturschützer. Der gebürtige Deutsche (Kreis Paderborn) lebt seit 29 Jahren in Wien. Nach seinem Studium der Landespflege in Höxter arbeitete er bis 2007 beim WWF Österreich und leitete dort zahlreiche Projekte und Kampagnen v.a. zum Schutz von Flüssen. Er engagiert sich international gegen den Bau von Wasserkraftwerken, in Europa wie auch gegen den geplanten Ilisu Staudamm in der Türkei. Im Dezember 2012 stellte er den Film Climate Crimes fertig – ein Film über den Missbrauch des Klimaschutzes und die Folgen „grüner Energien“ für Natur, Artenvielfalt und Menschen. Ulrich Eichelmann leitet zurzeit die Naturschutzorganisation RiverWatch, ein Verein zum Schutz der Flüsse mit Sitz in Wien und ist freier Mitarbeiter der Manfred-Hermsen-Stiftung in Bremen. Im November 2014 wurde er mit dem Großen Binding-Preis für Natur und Umweltschutz ausgezeichnet und im Juni 2015 erhielt er den Wolfgang Staab-Naturschutzpreis.

IMG_4454

Cornelia Wieser
Assistenz der Geschäftsführung, Projektkoordination
cornelia.wieser@riverwatch.eu
0043/650 4544784

Conny (31) arbeitet seit Februar 2013 bei Riverwatch. Die gebürtige Österreicherin hat Internationale Entwicklung (Schwerpunkt Umwelt) in Vancouver/Kanada studiert und interessiert sich vor allem für Lebensraumerhaltung, ökologisches Gleichgewicht und Klimaschutz. Sie ist für Öffentlichkeitsarbeit zuständig, sowie für Projektkoordination, Eventplanung, Übersetzungen, und Organisatorisches.  Aktuell liegt der Schwerpunkt ihrer Arbeit in der „Rettet das Blaue Herz Europas“ Kampagne.

20160812_144202

Anita Scharl
Projektkoordinatorin De-Damming
anita.scharl@riverwatch.eu
0043/680 1352449

Anita (37) hat Kulturtechnik und Wasserwirtschaft auf der Universität für Bodenkultur in Wien studiert und war anschließend 8 Jahre in Frankreich, China und Vietnam für ein französisches Umweltbüro (Asconit Consultants) tätig. Dort hat sie sich für die Erhaltung von Flüssen eingesetzt und gemeinsam mit den lokalen Flusseinzugsgebietsorganisationen Wasserqualitäts-monitoringkonzepte aufgebaut. Seit 2012 ist sie wieder in Österreich und war für die Firma hydrophil für internationale Projekte im Wassersektor in Ländern wie Libanon, Nigeria, Uganda und Moldawien zuständig. Seit Mitte Februar 2017 arbeitet Anita bei Riverwatch und entwickelt die De-Damming Kampagne, welche es sich zum Ziel gesetzt hat, Flüsse von alten und nicht mehr funktionsfähigen Dämmen zu befreien.

32_lachend_1

Langjähriger Partner und Unterstützer von Riverwatch ist die Manfred-Hermsen-Stiftung mit Sitz in Bremen

mhs logo quer_8b