The Balkan Rivers: Save the Blue Heart of Europe

Web_Logo klein_blue heart

If you think about the Balkans, you think of many things: of vacation at the Mediterranean Sea, of past wars – but certainly not of stunning rivers. Indeed, Europe’s best rivers are located between Slovenia and Greece – the Blue Heart of Europe beats on the Balkans. This is where truly wild, living rivers can still be found: crystal clear creeks, spectacular waterfalls, deep river canyons, alluvial forest, and huge wild rivers with vast gravel banks. What’s more, these rivers are one of the most important hotspots for European freshwater biodiversity. Did you know that the Balkan rivers host 69 fish species that live only here and nowhere else in the world? Or did you know that over 40% of all endangered freshwater mussels and snails of Europe can be found in these freshwater systems?

Gregava, Bosnia and Herzegovina. Photo: A. Vorauer

Gregava, Bosnia and Herzegovina. Photo: A. Vorauer

Hardly anyone knows about it. However, this unknown treasure is threatened. The rivers of the Balkans are to be dammed. 2,683 hydropower plants (including small plants with a capacity of 0-1 MW) are projected to be built in the next few years – commonly with the help of Western businesses and loans. Not even the most striking and valuable river stretches and national parks are to be spared.

We – the environmental NGOs RiverWatch and EuroNatur – want to prevent this horror scenario from becoming reality. In preparation for the campaign, we assessed the Balkan river web and arrived at an impressive result: 80% of the 35,000 river kilometers that we examined is still in very good or good condition, 30% is almost unspoiled. In the rest of Europe the picture is reversed: 80% is in bad condition.

The Blue Heart of Europe

On a river map, the result looks like this:

HydroENG_Logo rechts

Near-natural stretches are marked in blue, slightly to moderately modified stretches are green, yellow represents extensively modified stretches, and red means severely modified. While the hydromorphological map of the Balkan river web shows mainly blue and green colours, a comparable map of the rest of Europe would light up in yellow and red.

European Biodiversity Hotspot

Balkan rivers stand out for providing habitat to an enormous number of species, many of whom are endemites (species that live only here and nowhere else in the world). According to current scientific knowledge 69 fish species are endemic to the Balkans. In addition, 40% of all endangered freshwater mollusk species (mussels and snails) of Europe live in the rivers and lakes of the Balkans.

Theodoxus fluviatilis. Photo: Jörg Freyhof

Theodoxus fluviatilis. Photo: Jörg Freyhof

Unio Crassus

Unio Crassus

This data may not exhaustive, and is likely that even more species – undiscovered species even – live in the Balkan rivers. Another characteristic of the Balkan rivers is that they are in large parts unexplored.

What’s more, the region is believed to provides habitat to an exceptional species: the huchen, also known as Danube salmon. This fish can grow as big as 1.2 metres; its habitat are intact, quick-flowing rivers with many gravel banks. Only the Balkan rivers provide such ideal conditions. Anywhere else in Europe, dams have destroyed the Danube salmon’s habitat as dams interupt its migration.

However, we know little about huchen population on the Balkans. In the course of the “Save the Blue Heart of Europe” campaign we would like to change that. Studies are in preparation

The Threat

The blue heart is at risk of infarction. According to our research, 2,683 hydropower plants (also including small hydropower plants (SHPP) with a capacity of 0-1MW) are projected to be built in the next years. Many countries plan excessive damming of all their rivers. After already having completed many new dams, Macedonia intends to construct another 203 dams (of which 4 are under construction) while Albania plans to build another 337 hydropower plants (with 24 already under construction). It is obvious, that even the most pristine rivers and national parks are not safe from this development.

Map after Update with Legend

Under the pretext of green energy, even the most valuable river stretches are to be destroyed – as in the case of this dam in Turkey. This is what we would like to prevent by means of the “Save the Blue Heart of Europe” campaign.

Under the pretext of green energy, even the most valuable river stretches are to be destroyed – as in the case of this dam in Turkey. This is what we would like to prevent by means of the “Save the Blue Heart of Europe” campaign.

Constructions of the hydropower plant Kalivaç on the Vjosa river started in 2007. Thanks to financial problems the Vjosa still flows freely through the construction site. But for how much longer?

Constructions of the hydropower plant Kalivaç on the Vjosa river started in 2007. Thanks to financial problems the Vjosa still flows freely through the construction site. But for how much longer?

The Campaign

In our campaign, we concentrate on three river basins that are particularly valuable and thus need to be spared from hydroelectric development: the Vjosa river in Albania, the Mavrovo National Park in Macedonia, and the Sava river in Slovenia, Croatia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, and Serbia.

Read more about the campaign at www.balkanrivers.net

NEWSBalkan Rivers

The other Balkan route

Topic: Balkan Rivers

Joint press release by Riverwatch and EuroNatur

++ Balkan Rivers Tour against dam tsunami ended ++ Kayakers paddled 23 rivers in 6 countries ++ Photo highlights of the tour for download ++

May 20, 2016: Protest in Tirana, Albania: several hundred [...]

Balkan Rivers Tour Videos

Topic: Balkan Rivers

Motion pictures say more than 1000 words. Below are short video impressions covering the entire 36 days of the Balkan Rivers Tour. Enjoy!

Residents of the Vjosa valley share our vision: they don’t want PM Edi Rama’s dams – they want their river to remain free. The video shows impressions of [...]

A kayak for Rama

Topic: Balkan Rivers

Joint press release by Riverwatch, EuroNatur and EcoAlbania

++ Albanian Prime Minister receives unusual petition for the protection of the Vjosa ++ Balkan Rivers Tour ends in Tirana ++

A kayak petition with over 1000 signatures was planned to [...]

Rettet das blaue Herz Europas -  Save the Balkan Rivers

Web_Logo klein_blue heart

Den Balkan verbindet man bei uns mit vielen Dingen: mit Urlaub am Mittelmeer, vergangene Kriege, aber sicher nicht mit tollen Flüssen. Doch tatsächlich gibt es zwischen Slowenien und Griechenland die besten Flüsse Europas – hier schlägt das blaue Herz des Kontinents. Hier kann man noch tatsächlich lebende Flüsse erleben. Kristallklare Bäche, spektakuläre Wasserfälle, tiefe Schluchten, Auwälder und große Wildflüsse mit riesigen Schotterinseln. Außerdem sind diese Flüsse eines der großen Zentren europäischer Artenvielfalt. Haben Sie gewusst, dass hier 69 Fischarten leben, die es nur hier gibt und sonst nirgends auf der Welt? Oder dass hier mehr als 40% aller in Europa gefährdeten Süßwassermuscheln und Süßwasserschnecken leben?

Gregava, Bosnien und Herzegowina. Foto: A. Vorauer

Bregava, Bosnien und Herzegowina. Foto: A. Vorauer

Kaum jemand weiß das. Doch dieser unbekannte Schatz ist bedroht. Er soll im wahrsten Sinne des Wortes hinter Dämmen verstaut werden. 2.683 Wasserkraftwerke (einschließlich Kleinwasserkraftwerke mit einer Kapazität von 0-1 MW) sollen dort in den nächsten Jahren gebaut werden – häufig mit Firmen und Geld aus dem Westen. Selbst die schönsten und wertvollsten Flussstrecken sollen nicht verschont bleiben.

Wir – die Naturschutzorganisationen Riverwatch und Euronatur – wollen diesen Exodus verhindern. In den letzten Jahren haben wir das Adernetz des Balkans studiert. Das Ergebnis ist beeindruckend: von den untersuchten 35.000 Flusskilometer sind noch etwa 80% der Flüsse in einem sehr guten oder guten Zustand: 30% fast unberührt und weitere 50% in einem guten Zustand, d.h. nur wenig beeinflusst. Innerhalb der EU ist es in der Regel eher umgekehrt – 80% sind in einem schlechten Zustand.

Das blaue Herz Europas

Auf einer Flusskarte sieht das Ergebnis so aus:
HydroGER_Logo rechts

Mit blau sind alle unberührten Strecken gekennzeichnet, grün ist naturnah, gelb naturfern und rot bedeutet „eingestaut“. Während das Flussnetz im Balkan zum Größteil noch mit blau und grün eingefärbt werden kann würde eine vergleichbare Karte von “Resteuropa” rot und gelb leuchten.

Europäisches Artenzentrum

Die Balkanflüsse zeichnen sich auch durch eine enorm hohe Artenzahl und v.a. durch eine große Anzahl von Endemiten aus, also Arten, die nur hier vorkommen und nirgendwo sonst auf der Welt. Soweit man heute weiß, sind das bei den Fischen 69 Arten. Ebenfalls beeindruckend sind die Fakten bezüglich Süßwassermollusken (Muscheln und Schnecken): 40% aller gefährdeten Molluskenarten Europas leben in den Flüssen und Seen des Balkans.

Theodoxus fluviatilis

Theodoxus fluviatilis. Foto: Jörg Freyhof

Unio Crassus

Unio Crassus

Doch es ist durchaus möglich, dass es noch weitere Arten gibt. Ein weiteres Merkmal der Balkanflüsse ist nämlich, dass sie häufig noch nicht wirklich erforscht sind.

Außerdem dürfte diese Region das Bestandszentrum einer ganz besonderen Art sein: des Huchen. Dieser auch Donaulachs genannte Fisch kann über 1,80 Meter lang werden. Sein Lebensraum sind rasch fließende intakte Flüsse mit vielen Schotterbänken. Anders als im Rest seines europäischen Verbreitungsgebietes findet er in den Balkanflüssen noch ideale Bedingungen. Der Huchen hat ein Problem: Staudämme zerstören seinen Lebensraum und hindern ihn bei der Wanderung.

Doch es ist nur wenig über die Bestände dieses Fisches am Balkan bekannt. Im Rahmen der „Save the Blue Heart of Europe“ Kampagne wollen wir das ändern – Untersuchungen sind in Vorbereitung.

Die Bedrohung

Dem blauen Herz Europas droht der Infarkt. Nach unseren Untersuchungen ist in den nächsten Jahren der Bau von 2.683 Wasserkraftwerke (einschließlich Kleinwasserkraftwerke mit einer Kapazität von 0-1 MW) geplant. Viele Länder planen den „Totalausbau“ ihrer Flüsse. Nach Fertigstellung einiger neuer Dämme  sieht das Land Mazedonien den Bau  von weiteren 203 Wasserkraftwerken vor (4 davon werden bereits gebaut) während Albanien weitere 337 Dämme plant (wovon 24 im Bau sind). Klar ist, dass selbst die besten Flüsse und sogar Nationalparks in Gefahr sind.

Map after Update with Legend GER

Unter dem Deckmantel grüner Energie sollen selbst die besten Flüsse bzw. Flussstrecken zerstört werden - wie durch diesen Staudamm in der Türkei. Genau das will die Kampagne „Save the Balkan Rivers“ verhindern.

Unter dem Deckmantel grüner Energie sollen selbst die besten Flüsse bzw. Flussstrecken zerstört werden – wie durch diesen Staudamm in der Türkei. Genau das will die Kampagne „Save the Blue Heart of Europe“ verhindern.

Der Bau des Kalivaç Wasserkraftwerks an der Vjosa hat 2007 begonnen. Dank Finanzierungsprobleme fließt die Vjosa noch frei durch. Doch wie lange noch?

Der Bau des Kalivaç Wasserkraftwerks an der Vjosa hat 2007 begonnen. Dank Finanzierungsproblemen fließt die Vjosa noch frei durch. Doch wie lange noch?

Die Kampagne

In der Kampagne konzentrieren wir uns auf drei Flussgebiete, die unbedingt von Wasserkraftwerken frei gehalten werden müssen: Die Vjosa in Albanien, der Mavrovo Nationalpark in Mazedonien und die Save in Slowenien, Kroatien, Bosnien-Herzegowina

Lesen Sie mehr über die Kampagne unter http://www.balkanrivers.net/de

NEWSBalkan Rivers

Video: Huchen in der Mur bei Graz

zum Thema Allgemein, Balkan Rivers, Mur

Sehenswerter Filmbeitrag über die Huchen in Graz und Franz Keppel - einen Kämpfer für Fische und Flüsse.

Sie leben noch! Die Huchen der freifließenden Grazer-Mur. Doch nun geht es ums Überleben!! Die erfreuliche Wiedergeburt der Mur wird durch einen bereits erfolgten Baustart der [...]

„Weißbuch Save“ vorgestellt

zum Thema Balkan Rivers

Gemeinsame Pressemitteilung von Riverwatch und EuroNatur

++ Chancen und Bedrohungen für einen der wertvollsten Flüsse Europas ++ Hochwasserschutz ausgearbeitet ++ Am 2. Februar ist Weltfeuchtgebietstag ++

Das „Weißbuch Save“ beschreibt erstmals in komprimierter Form die ökologische Bedeutung und die Bedrohungen der Save - [...]